I Have a Name

Cover the Children with Prayer

Feeling alone because you don’t hang around the same circles anymore? God has set you apart and those old friends that got you into those sticky situations start to feel uncomfortable around you.

Sometimes you lose friend incidentally. Notice I said incidentally instead of accidentally. Accidentally would mean it was something unfortunate and unintentional. Incidentally means something that results as a consequence of something. See it this way…

You may not have set out to lose your friends but because you made the necessary changes in your life to be spiritually sound and connected, a consequence of that is for those spirits that oppose will flee. 1 Corinthians 15:33 says, “ Do not be deceived: ‘Bad company ruins good morals.’”

Those harmful negative spirits already know! The Word has already commanded it. It is the Word of God. “Depart from me, you evildoers, that I may keep the commandments of my God.” (Psalms 119:115)

Know your worth. You have a name.

Too long I allowed people to just called the the mom of ….. the wife of….. the friend of…..

It used to be weird hearing my name out loud when it wasn’t in a formal setting where I absolutely had to be addressed.

I used to not even like my name. I used to think I didn’t even look like my name.

There came a time when I began to wonder why people couldn’t remember my name. Well…I was so busy distancing myself from people out of fear of being betrayed or befriended then lose that invested time to something silly. I began to not want people to get to know me so I didn’t bother to get to know them. Of course I had changed. My circles had changed. My activities had changed. I had to remember those people are not in my life anymore incidentally. When I sought God more they found fellowship with someone that made them feel more comfortable seeking God less.

Such power! I have a name!

One thing I had to change along with the change is my mindset. I have a name. I am a woman of God. Hello, my name is LaShundra.

Let’s pray.

Dear God,

I pray for all the children in the world. May they shed toxic friendships and know their worth. May they be called by the name they have been given. The name that You written in the book of life. May they step into what has been preserved and reserved just for them. Just for them by name. In Jesus’ name, Amen.